This non-credit course is 100% online. | Start anytime.
Become a Real Estate Agent
With employment of real estate brokers and sales agents projected to grow by at least 7% in the next 8 years, CBC is making it even easier for people to become licensed real estate agent. This 100% online program will fulfill the mandatory Texas real estate license requirements.
Job Outlook for Real Estate Agents
According to the Texas Workforce Commission, demand for real estate agents will grow 19% through 2028.
The BLS notes that on average, real estate agents in Texas earn an annual salary of $70,520.
Texas Real Estate Education Requirements:
- Texas real estate salesperson license: 180 hours in qualifying mandatory education.
- Texas real estate broker license: 900 hours (This includes 270 hours in qualifying mandatory plus 630 hours of related qualifying or elective CE. Or an applicant who has earned a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university will be deemed to have satisfied the related qualifying education requirements for a broker license. A copy of the college transcript awarding the degree must be submitted as evidence of completion of the degree.)
- Final exams: Texas Real Estate Commission requires that your final course exam be proctored for qualifying education.
Texas Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:
- Real estate professionals in Texas must renew their real estate licenses every two years in the month their licenses were received
- Sales Apprentice Education (SAE): Licensees renewing for the first time must have a total of 270 qualifying real estate course hours along with 4 hours in Legal Update I and 4 hours in Legal Update II. The 6-hour Broker Responsibility Course is also required as part of the SAE hours for sales agents who have been made supervisory by their broker for three months or more.
- Licensees must complete 18 hours of real estate CE classes in each two-year cycle
- This includes taking the 4-hour Legal Update I course on laws, rules and forms and the 4-hour Legal Update II course on agency, ethics and hot topics
- The 6-hour Broker Responsibility Course is also required as part of the 18 hours for brokers who have sponsored one or more sales agents, served as the designated broker for a business entity broker that sponsored sales agents, or have been made a supervisor of other license holders.
- Final Exams: Texas Real Estate Commission requires that your final exam for continuing education offered through distance education be proctored.