Flamenco guitarist featured during next BCA concert

 The American master of the Flamenco guitar Ronald Radford will be performing in Beeville at the Gertrude R. Jones Performing Arts Auditorium at Coastal Bend College on Sunday, Oct. 31 at 3 p.m.

Ronald Radford

Ronald Radford

The concert is presented by Beeville Concert Association with a generous support by Mid-America Arts Alliance with and underwriting by the National Endowment for the Arts, Texas Commission on the Arts, and foundations, corporations and individuals throughout Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Radford will present a varied and entertaining program of haunting Gypsy melodies and dazzling Flamenco techniques. He verbally paints a picture for his audience of the Flamenco art form, native to southern Spain, by lacing his program with warm and spontaneous commentary. This performance will appeal to all ages and a broad range of musical tastes from those who like the creativity of jazz and the fun of Bluegrass to those who love the classics.

 A Fulbright Scholar and protégé of the legendary Carlos Montoya, Radford is widely acclaimed as one of the foremost Flamenco guitarists touring today. His concerts have taken him to universities and concert halls in 15 countries and have included such notable places as New York’s Carnegie Hall, Washington’s Kennedy Center, UCLA’s Royce Hall and the University of the Americas in Mexico.

 Tickets for the Oct. 31 concert are available at the door. The cost is $10. Children, season ticket holders and students with current CBC ID get in free. For information, go to www.ronaldradford.com.

###

Coastal Bend College 2010-2011 Performing Arts Schedule of Events

Download the Performing Arts Calendar here.

Fall 2010

 All events will be held in the Gertrude R. Jones Fine Arts Auditorium unless otherwise stated. Please note admission fees applicable to some events.

 Saturday, Sept. 4 – Fiesta Bee County Pageant, 7 p.m., free

 Saturday, Sept.18 – Celtaire String Band, 7:30 p.m., presented by the CBC Cultural Arts Committee, free

 Sunday, Sept. 26 – Kick-off Concert – Beeville Area Artists, 3 p.m., presented by the Beeville Concert Association, admission or season ticket

 Saturday, Oct. 9 – Indigenous Cultures Institute, 7:30 p.m., (Program of Native American songs, dances, stories), presented by the CBC Cultural Arts Committee, free

 Sunday, Oct. 10 – Grupo Orgullo (Folklorico), 3 p.m., presented by the Beeville Concert Association, admission or season ticket

 Sunday, Oct. 31 – Ronald Radford, Flamenco Guitarist, 3 p.m., presented by the Beeville Concert Association, admission or season ticket

 Thursday, Nov. 11 – Beeville Community Band and CBC Concert Band Concert, 7:30 p.m., free

 Saturday, Nov. 13 – Fiesta Bee County Recital, 7 p.m., free

 Sunday, Nov. 14 – Hawaiian Kona Isle Dancers, 3 p.m., presented by the Beeville Concert Association, admission or season ticket

 Friday/Saturday, Nov. 19, 20 -Madrigal Play and Dinner (Scrooge, Marley and Me), 6 p.m., James R. Dougherty Student Union Building, presented by the Beeville Community Chorus, admission, reserved seating

 Sunday, Nov. 21 – CBC Mariachi Ensemble Concert (Los Pumas), 3 p.m., free

 Thursday, Dec. 2 – CBC Drama Dept., Children’s Show (Name to be added), 7 p.m., admission

 Friday, Dec. 3 – CBC Drama Dept., Children’s Show for area schools, 9-11:30 a.m., free

 Friday, Dec. 3 – CBC Drama Dept., Children’s Show, 7 p.m., admission

 Saturday, Dec. 4 – Beeville Community Chorus, Mission Espiritu Santo De Zuniga, Goliad State Park, 8 p.m., $3 park entrance fee per person

 Monday, Dec. 6 – CBC Guitar Extravaganza, 7 p.m., free

 Tuesday, Dec. 7 – Beeville Community Chorus Fall Concert, 7:30 p.m., admission

 Spring 2011

All events will be held in the Gertrude R. Jones Fine Arts Auditorium unless otherwise stated. Please note admission fees applicable to some events.

 Tuesday, Jan. 25 – San Antonio Symphony, presented by the Beeville Concert Association, A. C. Jones High School Auditorium, 7:30 p.m., admission or season ticket

 Thursday, Jan. 27 – Auditions for Broadway musical, 6-9 p.m.

 Tuesday, Feb. 1 – Auditions for Broadway musical, 5-7 p.m.

 Friday, Feb. 4 – Suu-Ryeon, organist, presented by the Beeville Concert Association, St. Philip’s Episcopal Church, 7:30 p.m., admission or season ticket

 Saturday, Feb. 19 – Guadalupe Dance Company, presented by the CBC Cultural Arts Committee, free, 7:30 p.m.

 Friday, Feb. 25 – Main Street Children’s Theater, “Hank The Cowdog!”9 a.m. and 10:30 a.m. for area elementary schools, presented by the CBC Cultural Arts Committee, free

 Sunday, March 6 – Tin Roof Tango, presented by the Beeville Concert Association, 3 p.m., admission or season ticket

 Saturday, March 26 – Beeville Community Chorus annual Talent Show and Dinner, Dinner at 6:00 p.m. in James R. Dougherty Student Union Building, show at 7:30 p.m. in Gertrude R. Jones Fine Arts Auditorium, admission, reserved seating

 Sunday, March 27 – Hope Shiver and Kay Pace, presented by the Beeville Concert Association, 3 p.m., admission or season ticket

 Thursday, April 14 – Beeville Community Band Concert and CBC Concert Band Spring Concert, 7:30 p.m., free

 Saturday, April 16 – Beeville Community Chorus Concert, Mission Espiritu Santo De Zuniga, Goliad State Park, 7:30 p.m., $3 park entrance fee

 Sunday, April 17 – CBC Mariachi Ensemble Concert (Los Pumas), 3:00 p.m., free

 Thursday, Friday, Saturday, April 28, 29 30 – Broadway musical production to be announced, 7:30 p.m., presented by the CBC Community Performing Arts Project and the CBC Music and Drama Departments, admission and reserved seating

 Sunday, May 1 – Broadway musical production to be announced, 3:00 p.m., presented by the CBC Community Performing Arts Project and the CBC Music and Drama Departments, admission and reserved seating

 Monday, May 2 – CBC Guitar Extravaganza, 7 p.m., free

 Tuesday, May 3 – Beeville Community Chorus Spring Concert, 7:30 p.m., admission

 -30-