Coastal Bend College welcomes new volleyball coach

Kristin Clee-Charlton

Kristin Clee-Charlton, CBC Head Volleyball Coach


Download Coastal Bend College 2010 Volleyball Team Poster 

“Good defense will neutralize a tall team,” said Kristin Clee-Charlton, Coastal Bend College’s new volleyball coach. Noting that the average height of the 2010 volleyball team is 5’6,” she wants to emphasize defense this season and win games with skill and downright scrappiness. Her goals for this season are to improve upon last year’s all-around team, on and off the court, and to continue to build a reputable program.  

 Clee-Charlton is a native of Beeville, Texas, and a graduate of A.C. Jones High School. She played volleyball in Beeville middle and high schools and club volleyball around the Coastal Bend, before going on to play for the University of Southern Mississippi under Ricci Luyties, then the University of Oklahoma, under Santiago Restrepo.   

 She earned a degree in petroleum commerce while in Oklahoma and returned home to work for Dan A. Hughes Company in Beeville. She coached club and summer volleyball before joining the athletic department at CBC.  

 “This is a new team and a new start,” Clee-Charlton said. She isn’t the only new addition to the team. This season, only one athlete is a returning player. Two athletes are sophomores; the rest are freshmen. Though the players are new to college sports, each comes with a long history of school and club volleyball.  

Aimee Evans

Aimee Evans, CBC Assistant Volleyball Coach


 “Clubs help excel the level of play,” said Aimee Evans, assistant volleyball coach. Evans was defensive specialist for the college last season. She is a graduate of Coastal Bend College and returned to help Clee-Charlton. “Almost all college-level athletes have club experience. It puts them above the rest.”  

 CBC enters its third volleyball season as part of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NCJAA). Region 14 includes the following Texas colleges: Alvin Community College, Angelina College, Blinn College, Bossier Parish Community College, Coastal Bend College, Galveston College, Jacksonville College, Kilgore College, Lamar State College — Port Arthur, Laredo Community College, Lee College, Lon Morris College, Navarro College, Northeast Texas Community College, Panola College, Paris Junior College, San Jacinto College-Central, San Jacinto College — North San Jacinto College — South, Texarkana College, Trinity Valley Community College, Tyler Junior College and Wharton County Junior College.  

 Playing for Coastal Bend College are Sabra Vickery (Libero) of Luling; Rachael Lange (Outside Hitter) of Richards; Brittany Targac (Outside Hitter) of Hallettesville; Maritza Flores (Outside Hitter) of Roma; Brittani Wade (Outside Hitter) of Refugio; Marisa Valadez (Setter) of Edcouch; Samantha Alegria (Middle Blocker) of Falfurrias; Mykala Villarreal (Middle Blocker) of Falfurrias; Sarah Anderson (Defensive Specialist) of Forney; and Deidre Perez (Defensive Specialist) of Ben Bolt.    

The team has already played several teams in scrimmages. They recently defeated The Victoria College at home. “We are looking out for every team and every team should look out for us,” Clee-Charlton said.   


Coastal Bend College to host first annual Blue vs. White high school basketball tournament for seniors

 EVENT: Coastal Bend College Blue vs. White 2010 Senior All-Star Game

 WHERE: Coastal Bend College in Beeville, TX (Marecek Physical Fitness Center)

 WHEN: March 27


 Coaches from each of the 1A – 4A districts listed below will vote high school seniors to the team from each district by March 5.

 White Team: Athletes chosen to play on this team come from the following district high schools.

 1A District 28

Waelder High School, Austwell-Tivioli High School, Runge High School, Moulton High School, Nordheim High School, Prairie Lea High School

 2A District 30

Taft High School, Banquete High School, Skidmore-Tynan High School, Odem High School,  Refugio High School, Bloomington High School

 2A District 32

Santa Rosa High School, Bishop High School, San Diego High School, Hebbronville High School, Kaufer High School (Riviera), Premont High School,  Idea Academy High School (Donna)

 3A District 31

West Oso High School, Sinton High School, Mathis High School, Orange Grove High School, Robstown High School, Aransas Pass High School, Falfurrias High School, Ingleside High School

 4A District 30

Gregory-Portland High School, Calhoun High School (Port Lavaca), Miller High School (Corpus Christi), Ray High School (Corpus Christi), Rockport-Fulton, Moody High School (Corpus Christi), Jones High School (Beeville)

 Blue Team: Athletes chosen to play on this team come from the following district high schools.

 1A District 31

Yorktown High School, Pettus High School, Port Aransas High School, Woodsboro High School, Falls City High School

 2A District 28

Poth High School, Navarro High School (Geronimo), Karnes City High School, Stockdale High School, Nixon-Smiley High School, Kenedy High School

 2A District 31

Natalia High School, Cotulla High School, Jourdanton High School, Dilley High School, George West High School, Freer High School, Three Rivers High School

 3A District 28

Edna High School, Gonzales High School, Yoakum High School, Goliad High School, Palacious High School, Cuero High School

 4A District 31

Nixon High School (Laredo), Tuloso-Midway High School (Corpus Christi), Calallen High School (Corpus Christi), Cigarroa High School (Laredo), Johnson High School (Laredo), Flour Bluff High School, Alice High School, King High School (Kingsville)

 Rules: The games will be played using NCAA rules and regulations. Two 20-minute halves as well as the 35-second shot clock. Coastal Bend College is a National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division I athletic program.

 For additional information, contact Bucky Hartman at or (361) 354-2350.