May 29, 2023

Coastal Bend College

The latest official news from CBC!

HEADLINE: Over 40 CBC faculty members awarded new academic ranks

BEEVILLE, TX—At the Coastal Bend College (CBC) Board of Trustee regular meeting on January 21, 42 faculty members received new academic/professorship ranks as part of the College’s faculty title system. Each fall semester, faculty may submit an application to be granted either the assistant professor (0-4 years experience), associate professor (5-10 years experience), or professor (over 10 years of experience) title. Congratulations to the following faculty members on their new titles:

Assistant Professors: Jennifer Arismendez, Jarod Bleibdrey, Charles Daniels, George Fiegel, Gino Garza, Kimberlee Garza, Katherine Gifford, Janet Gonzalez, Stephanie Guardiola, Loana Hernandez, Karen Jordan, Audrey Lorberau, Linda Millard, Cynthia Newton, Richard Olivares, Nicole Poritsanos, Melanie Reeves, Leonard Scott, Richard Trevino and Kimberly Verrilli.

Associate Professors: Brian Anderson, Robert Coley, Kathleen Cuyler, Phyllis Garcia, Salvador Garza, George Guidry, James Hunt, Lavinia Isassi, Larry Mendez, Jr., Angelica Rea, Joel Schmit, Irma Trevino, Ludie Tyran and Ronika Williams.

Professors: Mark Brown, Karl J. Clark, Karyn Mills, Christi Morgan, Enrique Rodriguez, Margaret Rojas, Mark Secord and Jack Young.

Faculty Senate President Daniel Vernazza presented information about the faculty senate. As president, Vernazza serves as the liaison to upper administration by working alongside Vice President of Instruction Dr. Kyle Wagner to bring forth ideas, concerns and information from the faculty members. The senate meets on a monthly basis and is open to all CBC faculty members from all CBC locations. Minutes, agendas and by-laws are available on their website at

The Board of Trustees approved various local policies as part of the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) annual update, and they also approved a resolution authorizing early turnover and additional penalties to be collected from delinquent personal property taxes. The resolution authorizes the Bee County Tax Office to collect monies owed from property taxes in a more expedient manner.

During the president’s report, CBC President Dr. Beatriz T. Espinoza highlighted several accomplishments by CBC students and staff. The A.C. Jones High School Welding Team took home 1st place honors at the American Welding Society’s (AWS) Welding Competition in Robstown on January 9. The welding students are enrolled in CBC’s Dual Enrollment Program, which awards high school students with college credit for courses. To date, the program provides dual enrollment services to over 32 high schools in the South Texas region. For more information about the dual enrollment program, please email or call (361) 354-2714.

The CBC Marketing and Public Relations Department received notice of being a college finalist in the social media marketing category for the National Council on Marketing and Public Relation’s (NCMPR) prestigious Paragon Awards that recognize outstanding achievement in communications at community and technical colleges. It is the only national competition of its kind that honors excellence exclusively among marketing and PR professionals at two- year colleges. The college will be awarded either a bronze, silver, or gold Paragon Award at the NCMPR National Conference in Portland, OR in March 2015.

About the CBC Board of Trustees:

The CBC Board of Trustees is comprised of seven elected trustees that serve six-year terms. Their regularly scheduled meeting is on the third Wednesday of every month at 5:30 pm on the Coastal Bend College Beeville Campus, Robert J. Beasley Administration Building inside the Sandy Dirks Board Room. Meeting notices, agendas and board packets can be found online at