Coastal Bend College Board of Trustees swears in new member

 Dr. Hogue’s vacant seat filled by longtime Pawnee educator

 Douglas Arnold recently took the Oath of Office for Coastal Bend College Trustee, Place 2 during the monthly board meeting. He will serve the unexpired term of Dr. Grady “Sam” Hogue, who resigned earlier this year after 12 years of service to the college.

 “We are very fortunate to have Mr. Arnold serve on the board,” CBC President Dr. Thomas Baynum said. “He has had a long career in education and his experience and expertise will be assets to the college.”

 Arnold is a longtime educator and advocate for small and rural school districts. He started his career in Pawnee as a high school teacher and principal of the elementary school. He was named Conservation Teacher of the Year, representing Bee County. He was later principal of Pawnee High School. He went on to serve as Pawnee Independent School District Superintendent from 1973 to 1994 and Orange Grove ISD Superintendent from 1994 to 2002. He was named Region 2 Superintendent of the Year. Today, Arnold is as a school finance consultant for the Region 2 Education Service Center in Corpus Christi.

 He is a graduate of Texas A&I University in Kingsville, where he earned bachelors and masters degrees and superintendent certification. For six years, Arnold served as director of the Equity Center, an advocacy group that represents the interests of low and mid-wealth school districts. He served as director of Texas Association of Community Schools, a group that represents small, mid-sized and rural school districts in Texas, for three years. Arnold is an Honorary Membership Texas Association of School Administrators.

 Arnold will serve his appointment until elections are held in May. Laura Fischer, in Place 7, is currently serving the unexpired term of longtime trustee R.W. “Bill” Dirks who left earlier this year after 37 years on the board. Places 4 and 5, respectively held by board members Fred Moron and Emilia Dominguez are also up for election this year.

 In other board news, Carroll Wayne Lohse was named vice chairman of the board. This position was formerly held by Dr. Hogue. Lohse, of Skidmore, was elected to the board in 1999. Paul A. Jaure of Pettus is chairman of the board of trustees. Louise W. Hall of Beeville is board secretary.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Weekly NewsletterSign up for the latest updates!